Why Do I Review Books?

This is a question I get a lot. When I tell people that I review movies, they’re on board. When I tell them that I also review books…yikes. The facial expressions I get aren’t the most encouraging ones. My blog circulates around movies and video games, so why DO I review books? Well, the answer is an honest, simple one.

One of the worst feelings is not being able to find a book. When I’m out of ideas, I go to Google. Though this search engine is convenient for many other topics, books are not its forte. When you search for books, you get titles. Looking through the descriptions and summaries just leaves my head numbed. And all the reviews of every book are positive. How is that possible? How do I know what’s good or not? Well, I know that I’m not the only one with this “what book?” dilemma, so here’s the solution. For all of you struggling, check out my Book Reviews. I have a plot description at the beginning of each review, so you could go off of that, and my review, to make a conclusion. Is this a book I would like to read? Then, you could jot down the title and vwala! A book to hold you over.

So, check out my book reviews and see what plot sounds cool to you.

But, I haven’t read nearly enough books to recommend something for every genre, so here are some other tips for finding books:

1. Ask around. Asking friends, family, and the internet for good books never fails. Everyone nowadays will put in their two cents.

2. Ask your librarian. They are usually kind people (key word, USUALLY) and they have extended knowledge of what’s popular and suitable for your tastes.

3. Finally, look at the best sellers in your genre. Browsing book lists isn’t the most efficient thing, but you may just stumble upon something that interests you.

SO! What do you think? What are your tips? What books do you recommend? What do you think of my book reviews? Comment to let me know 🙂

~Ddog

Leave a Reply

