Guest Post by Karen from The Midnight Novelist- Top 5 Things I’m Looking Forward to in ‘The Avengers’

Hello everyone! Today I have a real treat. I invited a fellow blogger from the Midnight Novelist to do a post on the Avengers. Her blog has a ton of great reviews, travel posts, and more. Check it out here. Thanks for guest posting with me! Take it away, Karen!

The Top Five Things I’m Looking Forward to in ‘The Avengers’

Thank you SO much for inviting me to your blog to guest post, Ddog. I’m a huge movie junkie, so it’s a great honor to be here to give my opinion on arguably the most anticipated film of the year.

In one week we will finally be able to watch The Avengers on the big screen. Nerds around the world will assemble for this unprecedented event – a movie that has a back story and setup spanning four separate franchises. Captain America, Iron Man, the Hulk, Thor, Black Widow, and Hawkeye will unite to face an enemy that none of them can take down on their own.

The reviews that I’ve seen so far have all been incredibly positive. There’s even talk of a sequel already. With all this hype, it’s hard to pick which parts of the film I’ll be anticipating the most. But I’ve bitten the bullet for you guys, and I’m here to present the five things that I’m most looking forward to in this movie:

5. Snark. You just know there are going to be some excellent one-liners in this movie. Between Joss Whedon’s wit and Robert Downey Jr.’s timing, I have a feeling I’ll be walking out of the theatre quoting this film for days to come. Highlights already include:

Captain America:  “Big man in a suit of armor. Take that away and what are you?”

Iron Man: “A genius, billionaire, playboy philanthropist.”

And:

Loki: “I have an army.”

Iron Man: “We have a hulk.”

4. The ending. Okay, okay so this is kind of cliché. Of course I want to know the ending. But there’s more to it than that: I want to know where the end of this movie will leave us. Will it end with the Avengers having finally learned to work together, or will it end with the Avengers realizing that all of them in one place is not something that the world needs all the time? I’m banking on the latter, but I’m curious how this is going to be wrapped up. Will they agree that this was the first and only time the Avengers are going to gather, or will it leave us with that lingering feeling that there is a sequel on the horizon?

3. Captain America. Steve Rogers didn’t make it to the third spot for the reason you’re thinking (though that certainly didn’t hurt…). Believe it or not, he isn’t even my favorite Avenger – not even close. So, why did he make it to my list? It’s because I’m intensely curious about his role in this movie. It’s been assumed that The Avengers is basically from Steve’s POV after he has woken up in a world that – quite literally – is a lifetime away from the one he is used to. How will he acclimate himself to new technology and societal rules? I have a feeling there will be a lot of humor here, and a lot of butting heads with Tony. I think Steve, more than the other characters, is going to go on an emotional journey that is going to severely affect the way he interacts with his fellow Avengers. It’s going to be cool to watch that unfold.

2. Camaraderie. So, yeah, we know that all the characters are going to go toe to toe before they learn to work together. It’s going to be funny and brilliant and interesting, but I can’t wait until they all become teammates (I have a feeling “friends” isn’t really going to be applicable here). At what moment will they choose to put aside their petty differences and learn to fight together? How will it happen and why? Will they learn from the experience or will they be in the same place at the end of the movie that they were at in the beginning of it? We all know how unstoppable they can be when they learn to work together.

1. Joss Whedon. Yep, that’s it. That’s the number one thing I’m looking forward to when I sit down to watch The Avengers: Joss Whedon. I’m looking forward to his take on the story, his trademarked cinematography, and his ever-popular Whedonisms. Not only did Joss direct The Avengers, but he wrote the screenplay for it as well. This gives me great hope for the strength of the narrative, as we all know that big bangs without a good story does not a good movie make. History can attest to his skills, as he has given us such wonderfully written shows as Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly.

So, there you have it – those are the top five things I’m looking forward to in The Avengers movie. What about you? Do you agree or disagree? What would be on your list?

9 comments on “Guest Post by Karen from The Midnight Novelist- Top 5 Things I’m Looking Forward to in ‘The Avengers’

  1. Pingback: Guest Post for Ddog from Gamerscene: Top 5 Things I’m Looking Forward to in ‘The Avengers’ « The Midnight Novelist

  2. Great peek at this movie! I saw Iron Man 1, but not the sequel or Captain America or any of the recent Hulk movies (all I know is Bill Bixby and Lou Ferrigno). Do you think I need to see any/all of those before seeing The Avengers?

    And who is the kick-butt chick in the mix? Because that’s one of my requisites now for a group of superheroes: I want a worthy woman fighting alongside the men. She needs to be more than just a pretty suit (especially since those suits are usually designed by men who have NO idea what we gals would feel comfortable fighting in, but I digress). Thanks, Karen and Gamerscene!

    • Julie, I’d highly recommend seeing Captain America before seeing The Avengers. I don’t think you really need to see the other ones, but I think Cap is going to be pivotal to this movie and it might be good to know his back story. The awesome female Avenger is Black Widow. She rocks! She was in the second Iron Man movie. She might even be getting her own film!

  3. Iron Man 2 was not key to understanding the Avengers, and wasn’t as good as the first. It’s alright that you skipped that one. Captain America, in my opinion, wasn’t a very good movie. Rating it on my ‘Meat Scale,’ it would be a Porkchop. All you have to know about Hulk is that he’s in hiding because he’s trying to find a cure for what makes him a big green rage monster.:) And that is Black Widow. (Scarlett Johansen) She made an appearance in Iron Man 2. Hilarious comment:) Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Hey, Karen! Fun finding you over here. Thanks for hosting her, ddog13. I have seen all the movies leading up to this. I have seen Thor multiple times due to my little girls big crush. She LUVS For. LOL. She’s not very good at the ‘th’ sound yet. The Hulk movie/movies – not so much. When I saw Captain America I had to visit the ‘little girl’s room’ twice (one time I guess we just wanted to SEE it) and deal with losing a tooth in the middle of it all. I missed a lot.

    I do love Robert Downey Jr. and am very much looking forward to this movie. I just hope the kids let me watch it without bathroom breaks or talking.

    • Haha. As long as the movie is entertaining, they’ll sit still. You should have seen my little cousin in Cars 2 and Rio. Silent as a mouse. Thanks for stopping by! They may just be quiet when they see the Hulk raging 😉

      • Maybe. My son is an Asperger and has the desire to talk about things – often. He knows A LOT about all these characters and I am sure he will want to tell me their back story when we get settled in our seats and the lights turn off. 😀 His education comes thanks to the many video games that find their way into our home via daddy. LOL

      • Regardless of some talking I’m sure you’ll enjoy the movie. It has gotten great feedback so far, thankfully 🙂 Concerning your first comment, Captain America: First Avenger is important in understanding his story, but it wasn’t a great movie, in my opinion. The Hulk movies were not great either, and so Thor and Iron Man take the cake. I have seen Thor countless time, and it still hasn’t gotten old. Iron Man 2 was alright, not as rewatchable as the first, however. Over all, I feel that this movie is set up for success, or failure. Judging by the feedback from critics, it’s a success! I’ll be reviewing it this weekend so stay tuned:) Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

