Movie Monday: The Avengers, Expendables 2 Trailer, Final DKR and Amazing Spiderman Trailer, and The Dictator Opening Scene

Hello everybody! This is the first post in a new weekly series called Movie Mondays! In it, I discuss what’s new concerning trailers, news, and all things movies. This is a post that will ensure you never miss a good trailer or big movie news. Realistically, I can’t cover ALL the trailers and news, but I will project whatever I find interesting. Don’t worry, I’ve got your back 🙂

Here’s a podcast of me and special guest J-Train talking about the news below. I apologize for my fast talking in the first couple of minutes. I didn’t realize how quickly I was going until I played it over. Feel free to follow along with the post below. There is no picture or video over the audio, so you could go over to another tab and just listen while you send out last minute emails and typing up last minute reports. Enjoy 🙂

Let’s start off with the obvious. The Avengers! It grossed $200 million on its opening weekend here in the US. 200 million! It is the top grossing debut ever. Ever. That is insane. As of right now, The Avengers has made 600 million dollars total. I reviewed it on Saturday, and you could read the review here…or you could just scroll down a bit… 

Next up is the Expendables 2 trailer. Earlier this year, there was a teaser for it. It featured Bruce Willis and Sylvester Stallone having a “you owe me” talk. Finally, the trailer is out. You see some familiar faces, and you instantly think testosterone, even though it’s only a 2 minute trailer. Here it is!

I have no expectations for it, due to Chuck Norris being in it, who is now 72. Some people just don’t grow up. I don’t expect plot or meaningful dialogue. This is something I will watch just because everyone needs a brainless action movie once in a while. Then again, this is a huge collaboration of action stars, which doesn’t happen often.

Next up is the new Dark Knight Rises trailer. This is the last one that is being released before its debut. It really gets you thinking, “What does Batman have to live for? How far will he go to save Gotham?” For those who didn’t know, Bane breaks Batman’s back in the comics. Do you think that will happen in The Dark Knight Rises?

At bat next is the final Amazing Spiderman trailer. I actually typed up a post at The Midnight Novelist about if I thought this movie would do well or not, and why. You could check it out here. Anyways, this trailer has given me new hope. The whining Tobey Maguire has a perfect replacement: Andrew Garfield. We see him get humorous, and this trailer reveals something that has never been done in a Spiderman movie before. Peter Parker’s parents are now being dragged into the plot. Yes, they are dead, but they play some kind of a role. Check out the trailer below and you’ll understand.

Pretty cool, right? For those who didn’t know, in the comics, Peter’s parents were CIA agents. We never had this type of parent conflict before in a Spidey movie, and it will be interesting to see where it leads.

And then there was something that leaves me a bit confused. The first couple opening minutes of the Dictator were released…it looks Aladeen. Check out the video below.

And that’s all for this Movie Monday! How did you like it? What did you think of the trailers and opening scene? Should I continue with this series? Comment below to let me know.

~Ddog

3 comments on “Movie Monday: The Avengers, Expendables 2 Trailer, Final DKR and Amazing Spiderman Trailer, and The Dictator Opening Scene

  1. Love how you give a general overview of everything! It’s a really great series and I hope you stick with it.

    Also, that last trailer for the Spider-Man movie has made me toss away any doubts. I think it’s going to be great!

    • I agree. I like how it seems as if he has a device to shoot the webs instead of it being a genetic thing. It seems much more realistic, which is what Nolan has been doing with Batman. Glad you like the series 🙂

Leave a Reply

