Movie Monday: Avengers Money, Superhero Sequels, Avatar Sequels, Cop and Gangster Movies

Hello everyone. Let’s get right into this week’s news. This week, on movie Mondays.

Below is a podcast elaborating on the below topics. In honor of mother’s day, my guest this week is my mom! I sound a bit different in this video because I have been sick recently. My mom is not as involved in movies as JTrain was, but it’s all in good fun. She gets really into it after the Avatar part. I don’t know why I said my dad instead of dad. I guess I wasn’t sure if I was talking to my mom or the audience. Haha. Anyways, it was interesting to get another point of view. Enjoy, and feel free to follow along with the post.

The Avengers has surpassed 1 billion dollars worldwide. Avatar made roughly $1.83 Billion.  The Avengers is on its way to beating the record! In other news, The Avengers 2 has officially been confirmed. As one would have guessed, it is coming back for round 2. I cannot even think about that right now, for I’m still recovering from the first.  (in a good way) Along with that, Thor 2, Iron Man 3, and Captain America 2 (sigh) are all in production. Thor 2 and Iron Man 3 are set to be released in 2013, and Captain America 2 is set for 2014. (yes, a year free of more Cap :)) The Avengers 2 has no set release year yet. That’s fine. Whedon deserves to take a breather for at least another year or so. Along with the Marvel sequels, Kick-Ass 2 is being negotiated upon. I was personally a fan of the first. I cannot recite any lines, any plot points, or any specifics about it, but I enjoyed it. It was rather strange, however. I will let you know if a deal is struck. Moving on.

James Cameron has removed himself from directing and producing everything that is not related to Avatar. Don’t believe me? Here’s what he said. “So I’m not interested in developing anything. I’m in the Avatar business. Period. That’s it. I’m making Avatar 2, Avatar 3, maybe Avatar 4, and I’m not going to produce other people’s movies for them. I’m not interested in taking scripts.” He goes on to say how he can convey ideas with solely Avatar, and explains that though it sounds harsh, it’s all he needs. Well, we know that two more Avatar movies are being made, which isn’t a surprise, considering its success and reputation. I personally think that though Avatar was ground-breaking, and a Filet in my book, Cameron is making a huge mistake. He can take on other projects and bring them to life. Staying to this one premise, while it may be profitable, is risky and foolish. What do you guys think? Let’s move on.

There has been a trailer release for a movie called “End of Watch.” It is a cop movie filmed in the style of a documentary…that means Paranormal Activity/Blair Witch Project Style. At first, I thought it could be pulled off…then I saw a shot of the cop holding the camera as he was breaching into a house. You’ve got to be kidding me…

And the golden AK-47’s. I’m not very gun savvy, but I do know that AK-47’s are the most reliable weapons for militias and terrorist groups because they are cheap. Noone would golden plate an AK…

This next trailer is for a movie called “Gangster Squad.” The name is more than cheesy, but it looks like it could be a very good gangster movie. Ryan Gosling, however, seems to be the odd man out. After seeing Drive, I can’t see him as a gangster. Watch the trailer and judge for yourself.

Pretty stylistic trailer, right? I’ll wait for the reviews and more trailers before I decide if I’m in or not, but it looks pretty cool so far.

That’s all for this week! Check out the Think-a-Bit Thursday Post below and comment on it please 🙂 Until next time

~Ddog

4 comments on “Movie Monday: Avengers Money, Superhero Sequels, Avatar Sequels, Cop and Gangster Movies

  1. I do think Cameron is making a mistake but I honestly tink hell do fine on avatar as long as its the same quality

  2. Yes I think Cameron is rolling the dice with what he said there and his decision can either lead him to a downfall or still make him famous and I like the movies we are going to get except for Captain America 2. How can you make a sequal anyway after what happened in the first one.

Leave a Reply

