Movie Monday: Tony Scott Commits Suicide, Hugh Laurie out of Robocop, The Last Stand Trailer

Before I begin, let me say that I have found a proper way to deliver movie news in a podcast-like fashion…Oovoo. If I can find a couple of people who would like to talk about movies and movie news with me, we can have routine Movie Monday podcasts. SO! The news. To be honest, we don’t have such amazing news this week. Here’s the meat of this week’s movie news.

Earlier this week, director Tony Scott committed suicide by jumping off of a bridge. Tony Scott directed Top Gun, Man on Fire, The Taking of Pelham 123, and many other films. There is no official autopsy as of now, and there likely will not be for another month. He left suicide notes behind, but it is not yet known, or perhaps revealed, why he ended his own life.

Hugh Laurie is unfortunately no longer involved with Robocop. He was previously reported to be playing the villain, but he is officially out of the Robocop project. Hopefully, it is because he is pursuing bigger things.

Finally, we have the first trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger’s new film, The Last Stand. Take a look.

Do I expect it to be any good? No. It’s Arnold’s first individual movie since he has returned to acting. I would imagine that he is still rusty, and getting back into the swing of things.

That’s all for this week! What did you think about the above news? Tell me in the comments. And if anyone is on Oovoo and is interested in podcasting with me, let me know. As of right now, I’m keeping all options open.

~Ddog

Leave a Reply

