The First Day of Holiday Shopping is Always Scary: Cabin in the Woods Movie Review

THIS is something really special. THIS is what a movie is. Genius and artistry has been rolled into one movie. That movie is Cabin in the Woods. I find it difficult to express my absolute awe with this film, because it is so unlike anything you would ever expect. I had not seen one trailer or clip from this movie before going into it, and so I had no idea what was in store for me. After hearing some great reviews, however, I decided that I needed to give it a shot. And, let me tell you, this movie blew me away.

The three key points to this film are the plot, writing, and scare factor.

The plot is smarter than most movies that come out nowadays. I don’t want to reveal anything about that plot other than this: There are 5 college kids who go to a cabin in the woods for a weekend. But this isn’t a typical slasher film. That’s really all I can say. Don’t watch any trailers for this film. Don’t read any reviews. It will spoil some fun for you. The plot is so clever and refreshing. I have never seen anything like it in my life. It is so creative and such a great premise, I cannot help glorifying it.

The writing is what makes this movie work. Anything with this kind of source material would come across as a parody, like Epic Movie, but because of Joss Whedon’s writing, it works as an actual movie. The writing is funny and smart. The dialogue between the characters is so interesting and funny, and I found myself laughing out loud a few times. These characters, though some may not have the greatest personalities, are all lovable. The way they interact on screen is just great. Because of the premise, nearly every horror cliche is cleverly and subtly embedded into the film. You see a cliche take place and then you laugh, because nobody within the film comments about it. The fact that you catch the cliches is a feat in itself. Over all, the writing of this movie is the powerhouse that makes it work.

Lastly, the scare factor. Though this movie is comedic, it has sci-fi elements, and is not completely a comedy, so I would classify it as a horror movie. This means I have to talk about the scare factor. There are a couple of suspenseful parts, but you soon realize that this movie doesn’t spend 5 minutes in silence when the monster stalks its prey. Instead, once the attacking creatures are shown, there is a conflict right away. There is no long chase scene or creeping through hallways. The movie is very straight up about the scares. Instead of using cheap camera tricks and jump scares, the situation in itself is scary, making up for the lost suspense. Still, this movie sometimes resonates a lighthearted feel that makes you feel almost comfortable with these kids.

For a movie that pokes fun at the horror genre, the acting was actually great. I really enjoyed the personalities formed and given to us over the course of the movie. Chris Hemsworth did just as well as everyone else, which is surprising, because his acting chops are mighty. (Did you like that Thor reference?) Nobody spawned a bad or even mediocre performance. Everybody was solid.

I apologize if this review has come across as vague. I truly want to spill everything about this movie, but I must restrain myself. Instead, YOU should go see this movie. Drop everything and go watch Cabin in the Woods. Whether you love horror or hate it, (I am on the latter end of that) you will have a blast with Cabin in the Woods, this well-made and bloody Filet Mignon.

Have you seen Cabin in the Woods? Do you want to? Tell me below in the comments. As always, thanks for reading!

~Ddog

2 comments on “The First Day of Holiday Shopping is Always Scary: Cabin in the Woods Movie Review

  1. Arggghhhh. I need this movie in my life, pretty much just because it’s from Joss. I’ve heard great things about it, and even though I avoid horror movies like the plague, I know I have to watch this one. Thanks for giving me yet another reason to see it.

    • This movie is so Joss. And what’s more interesting is that Hemsworth did this movie before he was cast in Thor. It couldn’t be released before Thor because of financial issues.

Leave a Reply

