Merry Christmas to Everyone! Day 12 of the 12 Days of Reviews: Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Future Soldier Review

Every time I utter this game’s name, I say it with a British accent. I just thought that I would get that out of the way. Now I can talk about the game without feeling like I was keeping things from you guys. If you watched my vacation vlogs this summer, you saw me talk about this game as my cousin Robert attempted to find an exit out of the mall parking lot. If you remember that, you are a champion, and I tip my hat to you.

But the point of this post is not nostalgia, but reviewing a video game. The three key points to this game are campaign, concept, and multiplayer.

The campaign of this game had a couple of memorable cinematic moments, but it had literally no story. It seemed like I was moving from place to place for no reason. There could have been a story, but I would have missed it due to some sketchy storytelling. The story definitely was not told well.

There was some great game play despite the sloppy narrative, however. The first half of the game absorbed me. There were a lot of moments that made me feel like a bad ass. The whole stealth aspect is implemented very well into the game. Sniping guys in sync with your buddies never gets old. The beginning of the game was very enjoyable. The new concept of staying quiet to survive was very appealing. But the second half of the game takes a turn for the worst. Even on the easiest difficulty, it is difficult. I don’t mind a challenge, but the game does a great job at pissing you off. It sucks, because the game started off great. Unfortunately, the game became way too tedious even on the easiest difficulty for me to enjoy it. Playing soon became a chore rather than a pleasure. Over all, the concept was implemented well until the second half of the game, where the mechanics were painfully sensitive.

The multiplayer forces you to work with your team for the win. After adapting to the team play, you could enjoy the multiplayer, but it didn’t hook me. I wasn’t compelled or excited to hop into a multiplayer game at any point.

Over all, this game is a Porkchop. I really wanted to like it, but it crumbled upon itself. It had such a cool concept that worked for a bit, but the story was very sloppy and the mechanics became touchy and unfitting. Sorry Robert, if you happen to be reading this. I enjoyed our attempt at leaving the parking lot more.

~Ddog

Leave a Reply

