About Me Monday: How I Discovered the Dave Matthews Band

A year ago, I had a problem. I had no idea what music to listen to. I grew up listening to Linkin Park and Green Day, two names that are extremely popular and well known. I soon dabbled in Eminem, but I wasn’t satisfied for long, as the music I listened to quickly became hard to relate to. How many times over can you listen to Eminem rap about his daughter?

I was searching desperately for a primary artist to enjoy and dive into. It was when I got into my cousin’s car on my way to Cowboys and Aliens when I discovered the artist I was looking for. After I entered the car, my cousin started up the CD player. Playing was ‘Funny the Way It Is’ by Dave Matthews Band.

If you skipped over it, take a second and listen to a minute or two of it at least.

After the song was over, I didn’t say anything to my cousin. I assumed that it was simply a song on a mix CD. But then the next song blew me away as well.

It turns out that my cousin had the album and was playing it. He had 13 of these songs from this random artist whom I had never heard of, and I was enjoying every second. After this song (which I highly recommend that you listen to) check this one out. This was the song that made me ask the huge question: Who sings this?

These three songs caused me to look at my cousin as he was driving and ask, “Who is this?” He said that it was Dave Matthews Band, and we listened to a good chunk of the rest of the album. Ever since, I’ve checked out this band’s music, eager for more. A year in and I still enjoy the heck out of these guys. If you’re not familiar, here’s the band:

Dave is the guy at the far right. Look at the guy. He looks average. He looks like a normal dude. No crazy tattoos. No colored hair or piercings. He wouldn’t stand out in a crowd by any means. And he was born in South Africa. By looking at him, you wouldn’t guess that much is going on with him, but he’s got a story to tell for sure.

The rest of the band also have their stories, each respectable musicians in their own right. They have such a chemistry that rings in every one of their songs that, whether you like them or not, deserves appreciation.

This band is known for delivering amazing live performances. They don’t play over tracks, and they don’t ever play the same show. They tweak their songs and add things and do things with fan favorites that make shows individual and unique.

But music can’t be appreciated if you haven’t heard it. Below, I’ll add a few songs that I feel show off the Dave Matthews Band. I’ll add a brief description of each song. All I ask is that you listen to one. Just one. When you get to the end of this post, drop me a comment and let me know what you think! 🙂

Big Eyed Fish– This is a song with a meaning that is conflicting yet true. Very easy to get in to.

Don’t Drink the Water– A sadder, darker kind of song that tells a story through dialogue between two characters.

You and Me- This is a calm, uplifting song. That’s all I need to say.

Gravedigger– This is a darker song that comes from Dave’s solo album.

That barely even scratches the surface of DMB, but it’s a small showcase of some of their stuff.

So what do you think? Let me know in the comments below! I really want to hear what you guys and gals think. 🙂

~Ddog

2 comments on “About Me Monday: How I Discovered the Dave Matthews Band

  1. You didn’t really think I’d let you get away with that line about Eminem, did you!? 😉 I listen to him repeatedly. Especially the Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show, and Recovery. I guess the answer to that question, for me, is about a million times. 😛

    • I like his sound, but I soon found it hard to relate. It’s great stuff, but I just wore out of the Eminem phase with DMB. Respect to his artistry, but I’ve moved on for now. And your shoutout is coming, I didn’t forget!

Leave a Reply

