Think a Bit Thursday: October Sky and Doing What You Love

I’ve been told that I look like Jake Gyllenhaal…I disagree…completely…

me 001

I have also been told that I look like David Henry…and I disagree…

me 008

But that’s not very relevant. Today, we’re talking about doing what you love.

First, let’s run down October Sky. October Sky is based off of a book which is based off of a true story.  STORYCEPTION. It’s about a kid (Jake Gyllenhaal) who aspires to build rockets and launch them. Unfortunately, his dad doesn’t support this decision, and problems arise with the law and the family. Not so much the law, actually, but I needed an excuse to put this picture in.

I have an uncle who looks like Stallone as well. The real Stallone is on the left. I inserted my uncle’s face onto Stallone’s body via the right.

Sylvester made us go off topic. Let’s get back on track.

So the main character of October Sky is happy when he builds rockets, yet his father wants him to work in the coal mines, an “honorable” job. But Gyllenhaal isn’t happy in the mines. He wants to work with rockets. This leads us into today’s topic: Doing what you love.

Just recently, I was walking around campus when I saw three guys sitting next to each other at lunch. They were rocking cargo pants and striped polos. These three guys, to be bluntly honest, looked like:

They looked like nerds, for you people who can’t put two and two together. The three stooges were each wielding 3DS’s, laughing and nerding out over the game they were playing. I looked them and sighed in my head. Come on…you’re in high school and you’re playing with your DS’s? We’re not in kindergarten.

I walked away, thinking nothing else of it, carrying about my day. But then I thought about the situation again. These three guys were nerds, and they were geeky, and they were very open about being nerdy. But they were having a great time. That’s the important part. They were doing what they love.

They didn’t wait until they got home to play their DS’s. No. They did what made them happy despite what others thought of them. These three guys, despite the fact that they were nerdy, (which isn’t a bad thing. I review movies on the internet) were having a great time.

That’s really all it comes down to. If you don’t do what you love to do, what’s the point of living? What’s the point of saying ‘I want to do this’ or ‘I want to do that’ with no real intention of doing those things? There is no point.

Don’t live for others. Hold up. That sounded really selfish. Don’t live for others’ expectations. Don’t live for others’ acceptance. Do you. Bieber did him. Everyone hates him. But he’s rich, so he wins. He has beaten his haters. He wins, because he did him.

Do you. Do what you love to do. Before you know it, you’ll be old and unable to move, so make the best of your life now before you end up like this guy.

Toothless and alone. I am assuming he’s alone because I definitely wouldn’t let him live with me…No teeth, no residence.

So that’s the message of the day. Just like the kid from October Sky, do what YOU enjoy. Don’t be this guy:

~Ddog

5 comments on “Think a Bit Thursday: October Sky and Doing What You Love

      • Yep, it’s the guy who played Scarecrow, but it’s also Fischer from Inception. The goal of the Inception heist was to convince Fischer that his father DIDN’T want him to carry on his business, thus tying into the topic of the post: Do you.

Leave a Reply

