How Kids Feel About Christmas: An Interview with my Sisters

Christmas is right around the corner. This year, I decided to take a closer look at the minds of our youth in regards to Christmas and how they perceive it. Many fear that the true spirit of the holiday is being lost. I have two younger sisters. Jasmine is 8, Natalia is 12. I did not interview them at the same time as to get genuine, individual answers. Here’s what they said.

Q: Hello little one. Is there anything you’re excited about at the moment?

Jasmine: Yes. I am getting interviewed.

Natalia: Yes. I cannot wait until tomorrow because of Christmas.

Q: What is Christmas a celebration of?

Jasmine: It’s a celebration of Jesus and God. It’s Jesus’s birthday.

Natalia: It’s about the birth of Jesus.

Q: Who is the first person you think of when you hear ‘Christmas?’

Jasmine: God.

Natalia: Jesus.

Q: What is your favorite part of Christmas?

Jasmine: I like the presents.

Natalia: I enjoy being with the family. I like being with them and opening presents.

Q: Why do you think that people give gifts during Christmas time?

Jasmine: To tell that they love you and that they’re thankful that you were born.

Natalia: It’s to express the giving of this month. It’s about giving to other people, not to be thinking about yourself.

Q: Christmas is the second-most celebrated holiday in the world behind celebration of the New Year. Why do you think that Christmas is so popular?

Jasmine: A lot of people love to open gifts and to see what’s in their stocking. And Santa comes.

Natalia: It’s so popular because it’s an important holiday and because there are a lot of Christians in the world. 

Q: What do you want for Christmas this year? 

Jasmine: I want anything Hello Kitty and an awesome Ice Cream Play Doh Maker, which I know is fun to play with and not to eat.

Natalia: I want winter clothes and a rainbow loom bracelet making kit, as well as a phone case.

Q: What is better? Giving or receiving?

Jasmine: Well I like wrapping gifts for people, but I also like getting gifts, so it’s equal.

Natalia: Giving, because when you give, it feels really good, and you can’t wait to see the person’s reaction when they open the present you’re giving them.

Q: Is there anything you would like to say to the viewers of Gamerscene?

Jasmine: This was really fun and I hope you get all the presents you want! Have a Merry Christmas!

Natalia: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Enjoy yourself and make sure not to be selfish. And give.

Perhaps there is still hope for the younger generations. This was interesting, as I expected a lot more Santa talk. What do you think of the girls’ answers? Let me know in the comments below! Thanks for reading, and have a Merry Christmas!

~Juck

Leave a Reply

