Movies I Probably Should’ve Seen in 2013

2013 was not a big year for me in terms of movie-going. Rather than going to my local theater, I often chose to watch classics that I had yet to see (like Goodfellas. Yes, I know. It’s about time), as well as movies that my friends and family had recommended me to see (Donnie Darko, In Bruges, etc.). I am aware that I missed out on some great films. This list is essentially a kick to my own butt.

Prisoners

Jake Gyllenhaal consistently stars in fantastic films, and it seems that Prisoners is no exception to his great decision-making. From what I heard, this is a dark film that is well-executed. I also heard that a rabbit will make an appearance at some point. I will catch Prisoners as soon as it hits Redbox or Netflix.

Captain Phillips

Dave Matthews on a boat. What more is there to say?

Oh, right. I am the captain of this ship.

The Wolf of Wall Street

DiCaprio has chops. He owns every role that I have seen him assume. Many are calling the Wolf this generation’s Goodfellas. This vulgar film is on my must-see list, and I will absolutely catch it as soon as possible.

Ender’s Game

I didn’t like this book. I felt that it was very blandly written. Still, I’d like to see my father’s reaction to the twist at the end. Plus, Harrison Ford is in it, and so is the chick from True Grit. She did a fantastic job in her role as the witty daughter, and so I look forward to seeing her and her caterpillar eyebrows in Ender’s Game.

American Hustle

This movie looks intriguing. Perhaps it doesn’t have the grandeur of the Wolf, but I’d like to see it regardless. Oh, and Amy Adams. That is all.

Of course, there are other films that I’d like to see, but these are the ones that are at the top of my list. Which film do you recommend that I see first? Thanks for reading!

~Juck

Leave a Reply

