Juck’s Thoughts on Dr. No

So I’m in the process of watching every Bond movie, from the first to the most current. I will be giving my thoughts on each film as I go along. Not many people have seen every Bond film, and so I feel that this should be an interesting journey. These aren’t reviews, just thoughts. I encourage you to hop aboard. The James Bond film franchise is one of the largest out there. They’ve been around for 50 years for a reason. Let’s get started! Dr. No was an interesting film in the sense that it established James Bond’s image, which still remains intact today.

In this film, Bond receives his iconic Walther PPK,

he remarks that his vodka martini mustn’t be shaken,

he drops the still-famous “Bond…James Bond,”

and he womanizes. A lot.

There are certainly many more staples to be tacked onto the Bond series, and I imagine that they will be coming up in nearing installments, but these inseparable qualities were introduced in Dr. No.

What I find especially interesting is that, in this film, Bond plays detective more than he plays spy. He’s a lot like 24’s Jack Bauer, piecing together clues and following leads. Also, his only piece of equipment was his Walther PPK. No spy gadgets or anything of that sort were present in Dr. No.

Notably, this movie contains the most badass spider kill ever put to screen. Granted, I don’t recall a spider kill in any other film, unless you count the Hobbit, or maybe Harry Potter. Regardless, it was badass. Dr. No, the villain, was an intimidating character, though I feel that he should have been given more screen time. He had robotic hands that were extremely powerful, and seeing him do some more with those would have been well appreciated. It was during the last 20 minutes of the film that flashes of Austin Powers entered my mind. A goon repeating the countdown of a rocket launch threw me back to Frau and her ridiculous hair.

Over all, watching how Bond started was an intriguing experience. I look forward to the next movie. ~Juck

Tell me of the biggest spider scare that you have experienced. I am genuinely interested. I’ve had a few disturbing run-ins myself.

Leave a Reply

