The Best Stuff Around: Chick-fil-A

~

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to a new series called the Best Stuff Around. In these posts, I will bring the best stuff around to your attention. Pretty simple, right? Here we go.

Burgers are great. I love burgers as much as more than the next guy, but sometimes I want something…bolder. There is only one non-burger food item that can fulfill that boldness. That food item is Chick-fil-A.

I present to you 5 reasons why Chick-fil-A is some of the best stuff around.

5. The Advertising Campaign

EAT MOR CHIKIN.

Having a cow represent a fast-food chain that serves chicken is unbelievably clever. The cow mascot is everywhere, roaming around Chick-fil-A locations, wreaking havoc on billboards, and inspiring “Dress Like a Cow Day,” where participants who dress as cows get a free meal. Those who half-ass it with a cow accessory get an entree. How awesome is that?

I am intrigued and impressed by the advertisement that this company does. It doesn’t feel fake, as ridiculous as that sounds, despite the plastic cows that supposedly climb up and paint on billboards. The company isn’t telling us that it’s the best thing around, or that its food can cure cancer. The only thing that Chick-fil-A conveys to the public is that cows want you to eat more chicken. It feels honest, and I appreciate that.

4. The Values

There have been multiple instances where my dad and I have been in the car on a Sunday morning and wanted Chick-fil-A. A couple of times, we even started driving to the nearest establishment before remembering that they’re closed on Sundays.

Owner Truett Cathy with his wife.

This “closed on Sunday” policy is a designated day of rest for the employees, as well as a statement to the consumer. The statement is generally taken to be “go to church!” Even though Chick-fil-A would undoubtedly make millions more dollars annually by remaining open for all seven days of the week, they still stay true to this policy. Regardless of how you feel about their values, this day off allows all employees to rest up, which is surely a factor in aiding #3.

3. The Customer Service

Each and every time I go to Chick-fil-A, the customer service is A-grade. Most everybody has a smile on their face. Not a fake smile that says “I’ve got to do this for five more minutes until I get a break. I hate this job,” but a smile that says, “I would actually like to get your order right.”

The employees are kind, they check up on you if you decide to eat in the restaurant, and they treat you well. You are guaranteed a “my pleasure” with every “thank you” you give. Chick-fil-A always provides for a pleasant fast food experience.

2. The Sideshow: Lemonade and Waffle Fries

Chick-fil-A’s lemonade is righteous. It harbors the perfect blend between sweet and sour. It’s smooth stuff.

fil a 001

I took that picture. I know, it’s pretty awesome.

Fries are cool, but waffle fries are cooler. These waffle-shaped barnacles complement the chicken sandwich perfectly.

fil a 002

I took this picture too. Notice how the container isn’t full.

1. The Sandwich!

The star of this show is, of course, the Chick-fil-A chicken sandwich. Simple yet flavorful, this sandwich is delicious. With two pickles and a large piece of chicken between two hot buns, this sandwich is definitely among the best stuff around.

fil a 003

I took this one too. Tell me that my lighting isn’t awesome.

What do you think? Is Chick-fil-A worth being placed among the best? Let me know in the comments. 

As always, thanks for reading!

~Juck

Leave a Reply

