Citizen Cope Album Review: The Rainwater LP (2010)

Leave a comment down below to request an album for Robby and I to review. Any artist, any genre, we’ll give it a chance!

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you The Rainwater LP, Citizen Cope’s fourth album.

In green is my opinion. I am very familiar with Citizen Cope’s music. I have seen him live.

In blue is my cousin Robert’s opinion. He is a rising Citizen Cope fan and is excited to listen to this album.

Here we go!

rainwater

Keep Askin’

Sometimes, when I’m feeling lazy, I want Ramen noodles. To prepare the noodles, I put water on the stove. I put the heat on high so the water can boil. If Ramen noodles came in Keep Askin’ flavor, however, I would put the water on medium heat so I could achieve a slow boil, because that’s exactly what this song is. Cope’s simple acoustics are given muscle by the backing drums and piano. The pairing of sad lyrics with Cope’ smoky voice helps to create a gloomy vibe. Keep Askin’ starts off the Rainwater LP on a relaxed note.

Keep Askin’ is a relaxing song to start off the album. Nice acoustics with simple drums and chill piano give the song a coffee shop feel. As a matter of fact, when I eventually buy this album, I am going to add it to the playlist at my dad’s donut shop! Anybody, regardless of age, can be hooked to this song.

Healing Hands

Healing Hands is pure soul. The song is incredibly smooth, equipped with groovy bass, grooving drums, and grooved up melodies. Cope’s lyrics are down to earth, a feature that is typical of the artist. The honking horns are sweet additions to the song, as is the whining guitar solo at the end of the track. The entire track seems to be a love letter to Bill Withers, whose subject matter and sound is comparable to that which defines Healing Hands. I love this song.

With a song title like Healing Hands, I thought this would be a gospel-influenced song. Instead, we get a song with a sick drum beat and powerful lyrics that relate to the world today. I love this track because of Cope and his vocals. The guitar bit at the end is a nice touch as well.  I would love to hear this grooving song live!

I Couldn’t Explain Why

I Couldn’t Explain Why is a cool track. Cope’s acoustics ring loud, the bassist is doing his own thing, the drummer is chugging along, and the organist accents the song. The lyrics aren’t incredibly profound, but the song grooves along nonetheless. I Couldn’t Explain Why is an easy, solid track.

I feel like I have heard this song before, though I do not remember where. Once again, I love the acoustics and drums. Cope’s vocals keep me sucked into the track. I get a good vibe from this song, but I couldn’t explain why.

Lifeline

There’s nothing tricky about Lifeline. It’s simply truth. Cope doesn’t have to come out with a 50-piece orchestra or a guitarist who plays with his toes to make his message heard. Instead, he picks up his guitar, has his buddy hop on the piano, and sings. The result is Lifeline. This song is packed with emotion, which fuels Cope’s strong message. Lifeline is a stellar track from Citizen Cope.

Wow. This is such a sad song, yet it makes you want to stay strong no matter what happens. That is Cope’s message here. I may not be a huge Walking Dead fan like my cousins, but I can easily see this song fitting into that show or any other show that has depressing moments that make you want to burst into tears. Lifeline is a powerful song, and that is why I like it. Life may be depressing at times, but stay strong and everything will get better.

Off the Ground

Off the Ground is the closest that Citizen Cope has come to incorporating reggae into his music. The steady piano and repeating guitar are pulled straight out of the reggae genre, and the execution of both elements are successfully executed in the style of Citizen Cope. The entire track has a positive vibe. Off the Ground is a joyful, uplifting track.

(If you dig Citizen Cope’s reggae side, check out his 2006 collaboration with the Easy All-Stars on their reggae version of Radiohead’s Karma Police. It’s a bit flat, but worth a listen regardless).

If you need something to cheer you up after that last song, then Off The Ground is for you. This song reminds me of a paradise setting and puts me in a great mood! Grab a friend or someone close to you, get in the car on a sunny day, roll down the windows, play this song, and just drive until sunset. Grab a drink, sit with friends, and chill to this solid track. That is how good Off The Ground is. We need more songs like this one!

Jericho

Jericho is an unusual track. It features electronic elements and steady drumming behind Cope’s echoing voice. The highlight of the song is undoubtedly the air horn. Some people go nuts over cowbell, declaring that every song with cowbell needs more of it, but I’m not one of those people. I’m all about that air hornThis track gets two thumbs up because it has air horn. Jericho is the oddball of the album, but it’s a damn cool one.

Hold the phone. Where are the acoustics? Am I going into a trance? Did I have a little too much fun? Jericho shows the creative, techno side of Cope. It features the one noise that songs need: air horn! I know Juck is going to be listening to this song for a while. Sure, I’m not the biggest fan of techno-like music, but the sick beats and the creative mind of Cope make it easy for me to like this song. Oh, and did I mention air horn?

The Newspaper

Sideways? Nope, it’s the Newspaper. No, not the newspaper that is tossed onto my driveway every morning in ratty plastic, but the Newspaper by Citizen Cope. This song is a dark groove that is fit for a serious cop show. I’m not talking about NCIS with LL Cool J and Edna Mode from the Incredibles. I’m talking about something closer to True Detective. The Newspaper is a fantastic track that is fit for vibing. The lyrics create some vivid images and the music is tight. I love the Newspaper. (Once again, not the newspaper that remains on my driveway to be run over for a week before I bother to pick it up. I’m talking about the Newspaper by Citizen Cope).

The intro to the Newspaper reminds me of Citizen Cope’s hit song Sideways. I always like it when artists make a song that sounds similar to one of their older songs. The lyrics are interesting, as they talk about crimes which you often see in the newspaper, but they also acknowledge the fact that the newspaper is not always truthful. Good job, Cope. You and I both know that the media is crammed with BS that fills people with their propaganda!

A Father’s Son

If Jericho had a baby with the Newspaper, you would get A Father’s Son. It’s kind of ironic, actually. A Father’s Son. Get it? Anyway, the buzzing from Jericho and the dark tone from the Newspaper mix to create a cool track with strong verses and a fantastic chorus that excels both lyrically and musically. The drummer deserves props for his work on this track. He kills it. He doesn’t pull anything fancy, but he doesn’t have to be all over the place to be impressive. A Father’s Son is a sick track.

A Father’s Son is a funky song that features the sickest drumming on the entire album. The bass and guitar are sick as well. Cope’s vocals are tight as ever. I am hooked to this song because of how well the instruments blend together. Honestly, I would not mind hearing an instrumental version of this song.

Lifeline (Barefeet version)

After months of owning this album, I only now distinguished the difference between the original version of Lifeline and the Barefeet version thanks to Robby, who caught the difference right away. This Barefeet version does not include piano. I can’t help but wonder why Cope didn’t simply call this version acoustic, as he sings the “barefeet” lyrics on both recordings. I enjoy this track, but it seems an odd addition to the core album. Cope took a track that already had few instruments and took away one of two. In the context of the album, the recording is unusual, but in the end, Lifeline (Barefeet version) still remains a solid piece of music.

I’m not sure what “Barefeet version” is supposed to mean, but it seems that this track is just Lifeline with no piano and only guitar. I like the sound, but why make it a part of the album and not a bonus track or something like that?

Keep Askin’ (Acoustic version)

I’m surprised that this track isn’t called “Keep Askin’ (Barefeet version).” Sometimes I crack myself up. Okay, I’m focused. Keep Askin’ is built to be played acoustically, so I’m glad this recording made the album. This recording is quieter than its counterpart, making it an even more relaxing alternative to an already chilled-out song. What would have been even better to include in place of this track is a live acoustic recording of it. Regardless, the Rainwater LP ends on a relaxed note thanks to this track.

How did Citizen Cope know that I wanted an acoustic version of this song? I actually prefer this version of Keep Askin’ to the original because, in my opinion, the acoustic sound fits the song better. This song could have been a bonus track, but I do not mind it being on the actual album. It is a nice way to end a great album! Thank you all for reading another album review!

My Top 3

Healing Hands 

The Newspaper

A Father’s Son

Rob’s Top 3

Healing Hands

Off The Ground

The Newspaper

The Rainwater LP is Citizen Cope’s most consistent album. Each and every song fits within the same mold. Cope’s predominantly acoustic style makes this record a chill listen. The tracks are groovy and soulful, driven by emotion. An outstanding effort by Citizen Cope, the Rainwater LP is a strong T-Bone. I highly recommend purchasing this album.

~Juck

Leave a Reply

